street 205

street 205

I’ve finally decided to free most of my photos from the tyranny of descriptive titles.

Apart from the effort involved in coming up with them, titles are problematic for many reasons: they force an interpretation, they draw the viewer’s attention to something instead of letting them find it for themselves, they often merely state what is self-evident, and in the worst cases they are corny or overly pleased with themselves… perhaps even smug.

Photos should speak for themselves and the viewer should find what they will.

Sometimes a title may be appropriate, especially in other categories, but it feels good to no longer have the obligation to come up with one for every shot.

So… here it is (roughly calculated from past postings) “street 205”.

(Note: I’ll probably forget – or may even change my mind about this.)

4 thoughts on “street 205

  1. I’ve seen other shooters take this approach. I like it because I think that there’s even creativity in it but coming from a background an mindset of an illustrator, I still enjoy naming my own photos.

Leave a comment