Ray K. Metzker

I keep coming back to the photographs of Ray K. Metzker.

RayKMetzker

What can you say? The shadows, the light… the blacks! The compositions are simply stunning; the stories beguiling.

He’s certainly one of my favourite photographers.

RayKMetzker2

Some people think that the “shadows and light” thing has been done to death – but I still believe that photography is ultimately about light and, as I’ve said before, I appreciate formal composition (and I think there’s still very much a place for it) so I’m bound to be strongly attracted to Metzker’s work.

Metzker isn’t a traditionalist however, and has always looked for inventive ways to make photographs: The Last Great Modern Photographer.

You can see many of his photos over at the Laurence Miller Gallery  and a collection of some of my favourites here.

Leave a Reply

